Cravings: Giving In and Getting Sick

9 Jul

Cravings: Giving In and Getting Sick

For years now, eating Kraft mac’n’cheese has made me just absolutely sick to the stomach. I remember when it first happened I think I hoped I was actually coming down with the flew and that it wasn’t the mac’n’cheese that made me sick (please, god! please! not the mac’n’cheese!). Alas, it was in fact the glory that is mac’n’cheese that was making me sick.

“Good” news was a short time after I stopped buying Kraft products all together. (If you dig theories like “voting with your fork” you’ll really dig The Better World Shopper. RUN and get it; don’t walk.)

Recently, I’ve been having the weirdest cravings.

Wild raspberries and walnuts

French fries and Bailey’s (seriously, my fave)

Ham and green olive pizza (says the vegetarian)

Luckily, they’ve all ended up spawning wonderful adventures.

I really tried to ignore the one about Kraft, but alas! after two weeks, which is generally my “is this a real craving or fleeting desire” period of thought (see Food: Guilt, Indulgence, and Maintaining the Balance), today I decided to indulge…

And what do you know! It made me sick again.

I knew it would. Even if it wasn’t for the same reasons as before, I try my hardest not to eat overly processed foods, like, you know, not powdered “cheese.” I avoid things high in sugar (except for alcohol… see my upcoming blog on exceptions… or just have a beer and you’ll know why).

So why’d I do it?

I knew that it meant giving money to one of the douchiest, unethical, domineering companies there is. I knew it meant I was going to end up with a terrible stomachache and nausea. I knew that the craving, too, would pass eventually.

Not only did I give in, but I went out of my way to do so. I went down to the grocery store myself and when I didn’t see the mac’n’cheese on my first trip down all the aisles, I looked again, and again. I even almost spilled all the noodles on the floor and, had I done so… I probably would have gone and gotten another box.

I wonder what it says about my self-control…

What do you think about cravings? Do you give in? If you do, do you feel guilty? Weirdest cravings you’ve ever had?

3 Responses to “Cravings: Giving In and Getting Sick”

  1. Sara Mitchell September 14, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Twitter twin, this was a good post. Why have you stopped posting? Grad school? I subscribed. So keep ’em coming.

    As for your addiction, I must confess that Mitch and I always keep one box of Kraft Spirals on hand. You know, just in case.

    And as for cravings in general, I usually obey them. I think I’ve refined them well enough that I don’t have to worry about them eating me up. I mean who could fault a craving for a glass of Santa Ema Merlot? Not I.

    • philososaurus September 14, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      Wine doesn’t count as a craving-craving. I mean, it doesn’t count as a BAD craving. Because wine is good, very good.

      I hear that, in NYC, there are ENTIRE RESTAURANTS dedicated to the mac’n’cheese cuisine. You bet your ass I’m going to find ’em too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Food: Guilt, Indulgence, and Maintaining the Balance « Blas(fem)y - July 9, 2010

    […] into Breaking Veg, The State of Exception (both upcoming), and (posted directly following this one) Cravings: Giving in and Getting Sick. Aside from food, they also have the common theme of “breaking” a “rule” set for yourself. […]

Leave a Reply

